By Al Zipsie

Hononegah won it's sixth straight NIC-10 wrestling championship Saturday at Rockford East.

However, Freeport gave them a scare. The Indians won with 198 points and the Pretzels finished second with 167.5. East was third with 145, followed by Belvidere Coop 125, Harlem 118, Boylan 101.5. Jefferson 64. Guilford 47 and Auburn 34.

Freeport actual took the lead before Hononegah pulled away in the medal rounds. The Pretzels lost six of seven championship matches. Only Major Dedmond at 170 took the title only needing 35 seconds for the fall in the final. Dedmond dominated with pins in :46 and 17 seconds to win his 29th of 30 matches on the season.

Finishing second for Freeport were Tyler Calam at 106, Markel Baker at 113, KK Collier at 132, Keondre Jackson at 160, Matthew Chavers 182 and Isaiah Batteast at 285.

Hononegah was led Giovanni Cassioppi at 145 his fourth NIC-10 title. his fourth. Other Indians first places came from Zach Fausel at 126, James Bowers 195 and Kaleb Etnyre at 285. Maybe the most exciting title match came when Entyre edged Alvin Maten of Jefferson 12-10 in sudden victory.

Host East had four champions in Elah Sor at 106, Saw Htoo 113, Carson Olofson 132, and Aydin Guttridge at 285.

Harlem had a trio of champions in Chad Richards who went to 35-2 on the season with a :49 pin in the 160 final. Kyrtin Lindquist at 138 and Cadence Hecox who took a 16-9 decision over Chavers at 182.

The other champions were Prseley Beasley of Belvidere Coop at 120 and Austin Abitua of Boylan at 152.

The West Carroll 1A Regional is Saturday, Feb 2nd. Stateline Sports Hub predictions. The final weight class may change. Top three in each division advance to Sectionals. Only first team in total points go to team dual Sectionals. Should be a battle with defending champ Lena-Winslow/Stockton and Dakota. Byron, Oregon, Rock Falls and Sterling Newman and West Carroll will be key. The field also includes Durand and Polo.


  1. Herbst Oregon
  2. Blakely Dakota
  3. Reyes Rock Falls

Contention. White LW/S. Watkins WC.


  1. Millman Oregon
  2. Rice LW/S
  3. Elmer Dakota

Contention. Nevills West Carroll.


  1. Sutherland Dakota
  2. Rillie LW/S
  3. Hartman WC

Contention Eubanks Polo. Hill Rock Falls.


  1. Doty WC
  2. Rude Newman
  3. Simmer Dakota

Contention. Roby LW/S. Schueuler Rock Falls. Larson Byron.


  1. Paul Oregon
  2. McPeek LW/S
  3. Wales Dakota

Contention. Mendoza Rock Falls.


  1. Alber Dakota
  2. Tunnick Newman
  3. Mennen Rock Falls.

Contention. Kalkbrenner LW/S. Whaley Byron. Nevdel Durand.


  1. Hermann LW/S
  2. Clark Oregon
  3. Walters Byron.

Contention. Heilemeier Dakota. James Rock Falls. Davies Polo.


  1. Ivey Newman
  2. Riggle Dakota (if healthy)
  3. Sewell Oregon

Contention. Haas LW/S. Wilsie Byron. Dowd Rock Falls.


  1. Harmston LW/S
  2. Nardin Dakota
  3. McCombie. WC.

Contention. Adams Rock Falls. McKenna Polo.


  1. Wenzel Dakota
  2. Dvorak LW/S
  3. McCorkle. Durand

Contention. Newman Newman. Simpson WC. Bellini Rock Falls


  1. Dertz WC
  2. Crandall Oregon
  3. Eder Byron

Contention. Gibbons Rock Falls. Lentz Dakota


  1. Ingram Byron
  2. Nelson Rock Falls
  3. Snyder Dakota.

Contention. Stich LW/S. Upmann Durand


  1. Lind Byron
  2. Mulvaney Rock Falls
  3. Dunker LW/S

Contention. Wescott Newman. Meade or Riggle Dakota. Grimett Durand


  1. Kuehl LW/S
  2. Elsbury Byron
  3. Quinett Dakota

Contention. Dile Rock Falls.


More From WROK 1440 AM / 96.1 FM