By Al Zipsie

Here is the Stateline Sports Hub All-Conference teams for baseball, softball and both boys and girls track for this past season. We combine the NUIC East and the West.


Powers Forreston and Aquin led the All NUIC baseball team. They have battled for the East Conference title and in the Sectional in the postseason. Last year Aquin won the Sectional and lost in the Super-Sectional. This year it was Forreston who won a 1-0 battle over Aquin for the Sectional title, only to lose in the Super one game from State.

1st Team

Pitchers. Michael Singley and Brandon Schneiderman. Forreston. Zac Cummings Aquin. Ethan Christians Eastland.

Catcher. Kody Plattenberger. West Carroll.

Infielders. Kyle Ottens Milledgeville. Kaleb Plattenberger West Carroll.  Austin Guy Orangeville. Ian Kuehl Lena-Winslow.

Outfielders. Cole Luedeking Aquin. Jonah Diemer Aquin. Cory Simpson West Carroll.

Honorable Mention. Pitchers. Aiden Sullivan West Carroll. Zach Lieb Pearl City.

Catcher. Jackson Holder Aquin. Jaron Groshans Forreston. Justin Young Polo. Brett Swalve Eastland. Ahrend Raab. Warren/Stockton.

Infielders. Josh Flick and Braedon Fyock Forreston. Barrett Bell Galena. Micah Knauer River Ridge/Scales Mound. Carter Kubat Warren/Stockton. Mitchell McLaughlin Amboy. Caden Getz Orangeville.

Outfielders. Bryce Carlson Aquin. Nicholas Kluesner East Dubuque. Kaden Henze. Eastland. Cameron Gelinas. Galena. Noah McGivney Warren/Stockton. Michael Thompson Ashton/Franklin Center. Carson Boyer. Milledgeville.



Last year Dakota was the big surprise in softball making it to the Super-Sectional. This year when they were highly ranked in 1A it was tradition rich Orangeville who knocked them out in the Sectional. The Broncos who had been in the position to win many, did it this year in an underdog role they made it to the Super Sectional in softball for the second time only to fall one game short of state.

First Team. Pitchers. Abigal Hueseman. East Dubuque. (West MVP).

Katie Nevdal Pecatonica/Durand. (East MVP).

Emma Norton Eastland.

Jenna Green Eastland.

Hannah Holland. Orangeville.

Marilyn Schultz. Lena-Winslow.

Cierra Miller. Milledgeville.

Tabytha Toelke. Dakota.

Emma Kinney. Dakota.

Ali Schmidt. Milledgeville.


Second Team. Katie Asche. Pecatonica/Durand.

Grace Sutherland. Dakota.

Tyra Clark. Pearl City.

Skylar Culbertson. East Dubuque.

Samatha Stoffregen. Galena.

Sarah Pena. Pearl City.

Loie Sellers. Polo.

Bailee Highberger. Amboy.

Katie Boomgarden. Orangeville.


Honorable Mention.

Mercedes Lentz. Dakota.

Alison O'Rourke. Amboy.

Alexis Houston. Forreston.

Riley Sullivan West Carroll.

Zoe Johnson Lena-Winslow.

Taylor Renz Stockton/Warren.

Emma Aljets West Carroll.

Aspyn Stewart Stockton/Warren.

Jennie Roemer. Orangeville.

Shiane Boyer. Dakota.


NUIC Track Boys.

The NUIC is led by Forreston/Polo senior and double station champion in the hurdle events A.J Christensen. He also placed with the 1600 meter relay team. Brady Webb and Jace Coffey also placed at state.

For Lena-Winslow the sprint relays were second in the state in the 400 meters and third in the 800 meters. Both with Valentine, Isaiah Bruce, Ty Chrisman and Gaige Schwartz. Valentine (Stateline Sports Hub top multi boys athlete) in the 100 meters and Bruce in the shot put.

100 and 200 Valentine Lena-Winslow.

  1. Max Sager Pecatonica/Durand.
  2. Thomas Stamberger Amboy.

Distance 1600 and 3200. Sam Mickelson. Galena/River Ridge/East Dubuque.

110 High Hurdles and 300 Intermediate Hurdles. A.J Christensen. Forreston/Polo.

Long Jump. Webb Forreston/Polo.

Triple Jump. Reid Taylor. Forreston/Polo.

Discus.  Coffey. Forreston/Polo.

Shot Put. Bruce Lena-Winslow.

High Jump: Christian Groenwold Forreston/Polo.

Pole Vault. Dom Christensen. Forreston/Polo.

400 and 800 Relays. Lena-Winslow. Chrisman, Bruce, Schwartz, and Valentine.

1600 Meter Relay. Forreston. Gavin Fuchs, Brady Webb, Cailean Davids, Evan Kelsey, and Christensen.

3200 Meter Relay. Pearl City. Logan Gassman, Brodie Kaney, Travis Kaney, Seth Palmer.


Honorable Mention. Hunter Daws. Forreston/Polo. 110 High Hurdles. Jayden Kempel. Pearl City. 300 Hurdles.

Nolan Lentz. Dakota. 400 meters.


NUIC Track. Girls.

In their encore senior year. Carmen DeVries of Lena-Winslow in the 400 meters,(and placed in two other events) and Emily Offenheiser Stockton) in the discus won state.

Rebecca Waite of Milledgeville found a state title elusive. She was impressive by medaling in all four of her state events, 100, 200, 400 and 400 relay. Waite (Illinois State) and Offenheiser, who was the Stateline NUIC girls top multi-sports athlete (Missouri) both will compete in Division 1 track in college next.

100 and 200. Waite. Milledgeville.

  1. DeVries. Lena-Winslow.

Distance. Conference champ in 800 and 1660 Sydney Schuler. Galena/River Ridge/East Dubuque. Conference champ in 800 and 1600. Schuler, was also a standout in volleyball and second team all-state in basketball.

High and Low Hurdles. Paige Christopher. Galena/River Ridge/East Dubuque.

Long Jump. Paige Christopher. G/R/E Tri Op. She medaled at 2A state in the high hurdles and long jump despite being her first year in the event.

Triple Jump. DeVries. Lena-Winslow.

Pole Vault. Ellie Packer. Dakota.

Discus and Shot Put. Offenheiser. Stockton.

High Jump. Breya Christopher. Galena/River Ridge/East Dubuque.

400 Relay. Milledgeville. Sage Walrath, Waite, Erykah Adams, Olivia Sturrup.

800 Relay. Milledgeville. Walrath, Sturrup, Alyvia Woodard, Lydia Coatney.

1600 Relay. Amboy. Ashley Althaus, Cassidy and Sidney Corcoran, Brooklyn Whelchel.

3200 Relay. Milledgeville. Paige Bardell, Naomi Mullen, Mara Schmieder, Nikki Ebersole.

Honorable Mention. Gwen Heimerdinger Lena-Winslow/Pearl City. Shot Put, Discus. Riley Finn. Galena/East Dubuque. 400. Julia Finazzo. Galena/River Ridge/East Dubuque, sprints.

Several NUIC school and all time NUIC track records were broken this past season. For the records go to Facebook. NUIC Track Records.

More From WROK 1440 AM / 96.1 FM