Auburn's Tytus Metzler made quick work of Rock Island's Josh Teggatz this morning in the first round of the IHSA 2A Boys Tennis Tournament, winning 6-0, 6-0.

Auburn's Quinten Nevenhoven was almost as successful. Nevenhoven topped Nikhil Piska of Lincoln-Way East, 6-1, 6-0.


Metzler and Nevenhoven both are looking to add themselves to a very short list for the NIC-10, boys tennis state medalists.

In the 100-year history of the conference, the NIC-10 has had just eight players place in the top eight in boys tennis. Metzler, a three-time NIC-10 champion, already is on that list. He finished seventh last year. Metzler is looking to join an even shorter list. Only three players from the NIC-10 have twice been medalists.

Here's the complete list of boys tennis singles medalists from the NIC-10.

Player, School, Year, Place
Julian Bruening, West, 1953, 5th
Julian Bruening, West, 1954, 5th
Dick Johnson, Auburn, 1962, 5th
Dan Wikse, West, 1964, 5th
Dan Wikse, West, 1965, 1st
John Torrence, West, 1972, 5th
Tracy Fenelon, Guilford, 1978, 2nd
Tracy Fenelon, Guilford, 1979, 2nd
Derek Rasheed, Freeport, 1995, 7th
Derek Rasheed, Freeport, 1996, 4th
Kevin Park, Guilford, 1996, 2nd
Tytus Metzler, Auburn, 2016, 7th

More From WROK 1440 AM / 96.1 FM