by Al Zipsie

Here are Stateline Sports Hub's 2016-17 NUIC All Conference boys and girls basketball teams and wrestling team.

Four of the five on the first team are underclassmen. The only senior is Amboy's Jordan Hochstatter.

Junior Austin Guy from Orangeville, who averaged 22.8 points a game, was the only AP All State Honorable Pick from the conference. Guy led Orangeville to its first Regional championship in 26 years.

The others named to the first team were juniors Kyle Ottens of Milledgeville and Trey Thomas of River Ridge along with sophomore Josh Young from Polo.

The girls team was led by Galena's Katie Furlong who was All State first team. Galena lost in the Super Sectional for the second straight year.

Stateline Sports Hub NUIC All Conference Boys 

First Team

Austin Guy, Orangeville

Kyle Ottens, Milledgeville

Justin Young, Polo

Jordan Hochstatter, Amboy

Trey Thomas, River Ridge

Second Team

Patrick Gustafson, Aquin

Zac Cummings, Aquin

Caden Getz, Orangeville

Cade Schave, Milledgeville

Brandon Schniderman, Forreston

Honorable Mention

Brighton Haverland and Ethan Christians of Eastland, Justin Hart of Amboy, Cam Spillane and Hunter Holland of Galena, Ben Robins of Durand, Tyler Reinhart of Aquin and Peyton Heller East of Dubuque.

Stateline Sports Hub NUIC All Conference Girls

First Team

Katie Furlong, Galena

Jaynee Prestegaard, Ashton/Franklin Center

Madeline Prestegaard, Ashton/Franklin Center

Delaney Wilhelm, Amboy

Tyra Clark, Pearl City

Second Team

Karlee Doege, Amboy

Makenzie Fink, Eastland

Abby Ponder, Pecatonica

Emily Offenhesier, Stockton

Tia Clark, Pearl City

Honorable Mention

Tabria Thomas of River Ridge/Scales Mound, Skylar Culbertson of East Dubuque, Alyse Southard of Pecatonica, Ellie Packer of Dakota, Lydia Coatney of Eastland, Abby Barr of Aquin and Katie Asche of Durand.


All-NUIC Wrestling

The NUIC won the 1A team dual state championship for the fifth straight year as Lena-Winslow advanced nine wrestlers to Individual State.

Dakota, who had won it the previous four years, placed four wrestlers on the all NUIC team and West Carroll added three.

First Team All NUIC Wrestling

Andrew Wenger, Dakota

Maverick McPeek, Dakota

Nate Schultz, West Carroll

Rahveon Valentine, Lena-Winslow/Stockton

Ian Kuehl, Lena-Winslow/Stockton

Hunter Luke, Lena-Winslow/Stockton

Kyle Kalkbrenner, Lena-Winslow/Stockton

Andrew VanKampen, West Carroll

Josh Anderson, West Carroll

Austin Vincent, Lena-Winslow/Stockton

Elijah Rowe, Lena-Winslow/Stockton

Alex Porter, Dakota

Peyton Keefer, Lena-Winslow

Evan Riggle, Dakota


Honorable Mention

Jerimah Hermann, Lena-Winslow/Stockton

Aaron Dvorak, Lena-Winslow/Stockton

Cade Meier, Dakota

Connor Davis, Lena-Winslow/Stockton

Colin Barker, Dakota

Connor Eubanks, Polo

Brendyn Williams, Ashton/Franklin Center

Alex Hoffman, Durand

More From WROK 1440 AM / 96.1 FM