Here is a recap of the Stateline wrestling teams from Regionals Saturday. The top three in each weight class advance to this weekend's Individual Sectional and only the champion to the dual team state.

West Carroll. 1A.

Lena-Winslow/Stockton has now won the toughest wrestling regional in the State the last three straight years.

On Saturday the Panther/Hawks did battle with NUIC foe and another state power in Dakota (who had won the Regional and the State title four years in a row from 2013-16). When the dust cleared Lena-Winslow/Stockton won it with by 10 and a half points with 181 to Dakota's 170.5. Dakota had the lead for awhile and going into the third place and championship matches the Panther/Hawks held a slim 5 and a half point lead. They held off Dakota who could not close the gap any closer and Lena-Winslow/Stockton escaped with the title in the loaded field.

The Panther/Hawks advanced nine wrestlers to the Byron Sectional and had two champions in Jason Hermann with a 8-5 decision for the title at 145. Case Harmston stayed undefeated in 37 matches with a 8-2 win over Marcus McKenna of Polo in the final at 160.

Runner-up finishes went to Winston McPeek at 132, Colin Dvorak 170 and Ian Kuehl at 285. Kuehl, now 34-2 the defending state champ at 285 lost in the final to Byron's Tyler Elsbury 3-2. Kuehl won the match earlier this season. The pair could tangle again at the Sectional and possibly State. Taking third were Zach White at 106, Simon Rillie at 120, Marey Roby at 126 and Gennings Dunker at 220. Robyn and Dunker had wins over rival Dakota in the important third place match where the winner advances to Sectionals and the loser is eliminated.  Roby edged Tyler Simmer 4-1 and Dunker escaped with a 5-3 win over Cody Meade.

Dakota had seven qualify for Sectional and had two champions in sophomores Lucas Sutherland at 120 and Andrew Wenzel at 170. Sutherland had a first period pin in the final over Trapper Hartman of West Carroll. Wenzel had a 3-0 decision over Dvorak of LW/S. After that win the Indians Martin Snyder had a chance to draw his team closer in the team chase. He battled a tough Colton Ingram (39-2) of Byron in the 195 pound final losing a 3-2 heart breaker. Also finishing second for Dakota were Maddux Blakely at 106 and Caleb Alber who fell 2-0 in the 138 final. Advancing with thirds were Connor Elmer 113 who edged Jaden Rice of LW/S 4-3 and Erik Quinnett at 285. For Dakota wrestling history go to Dakota Il wrestling history.

Host West Carroll finished a solid third in the team standings with two champions and two runner-ups. Ethen Doty is still unblemished now at 35-0 with a tech fall in the final at 126. Elijah Dertz had a 10-0 major decision over Zach Crandall of Oregon for the crown at 182.

Dertz an all-conference football player at Eastland, and a powerlifter has become an elite wrestler for the West Carroll Coop as he is now 29-3 on the season. Second places came from Briar Nevills 113 and Hartman at 120.

Oregon had a trio of champions and six advances. The three champions all recorded falls in the title match in Andrew Herbst  (38-1) at 106, Jacob Milliman and Noah Paul 132. Crandall was second at 182 and the Hawks had third places from Jokiah Sewell 145 and Chase Clark at 152.

Byron dominated the upper weights with champions in the big three at 195 (Ingram), 220 in Peyton Lind and Elsbury now 35-2 with the big victory over Kuehl. Blake Eder was third at 182.

Polo and Durand both had one wrestler make Sectionals. Marcus McKenna second at 160 for Polo and Nick Upmann of Durand at 195. He avenged a first round loss with a pin in the third place match.

Genoa-Kingston. 1A.

Stillman Valley had a great day and happy to not be in the West Carroll Regional winning the team title with 196 points ahead of second place Winnebago with 148. And the Cardinals had ten wrestlers advance to Sectionals with five Champions in Donovan Crumpacker 106, Cullen White 113, Mason Engelkens 152, Jacob Sigwards at 160 and Nolan Swenson at 195. Three runner up's in Logan Lagerhausen 145, Logan Jennings 182 and Mason Gray at 285. Third place was Chandler Vestal at 120 and Elijah Hildreth 138.

Winnebago had seven advances, three with the last name Faworski and a trio of champs in Dominic Mastorianni 120, Carlos Sanchez 126 and Bryce Faworski at 145. Second placers Waylon Hanke 106, Owen Lightfoot 113 and Hayden Faworski at 132 and third Mannix Faworski at 152.

Other Stateline wrestlers to qualify for Sectionals five from Rockford Lutheran in champ Christian Bonacquisti at 220. Second place Josh Adams at 170 and third's from Tag Habedank 182, Jaymer Pitts 195 and Steven Lee 285. From North Boone runner up's in Hunter Hughes 138 and 220 Anthony Mercadante. And Marcus Cater third at 145 for Ashton/Franklin Center.

Rochelle. 2A.

Freeport finished second to Sycamore with eight wrestlers earning a Sectional berth. The Pretzels had champions in Markel Baker at 113, Major Dedmond 170 and Isaiah Batteast at 285. In second Tyler Calam 106, Jaylon Hail 120, Keondre Jackson 152 and Matthew Chavers at 182 and third Tarrone Jackson 138.

Boylan had six qualify with first places from Adam Monteleone at 126 and Austin Abitua at 152. Second Tyler Mathias 160 and thirds in Caleb Nadig at 120, Eathin Dively 145 and Nolan Scherer at 170.

Rockford East. 3A.

Hononegah finished a distant second to the team champ Huntley. Taking titles for the Indians were Giovanni Cassioppi at 145 and Kaleb Etnyre at 220. In second were Zach Fausel 126, Jarrett Kinney 170, James Bowers 195 and Paul Fay 285. Third was Dylan Sayles 138.

Host East had six advance with champs Saw Htoo at 113 and Aydin Guttridge 285. Seconds in Eh Tah Sor at 106 and Carson Olofson 132. Thirds Dominic Carlstrom 120 and Joey Pineda 195.

Harlem had champs in Chad Richards 160 and Cadence Hecox 182. Runner up's Jevin Doke 113, Kyrtin Lindquist 138 and Preston Schuelke 152. Jackson Cross was third at 132.

Belvidere/North Coop. Second place efforts from Presley Beasley 120, Glenn Winchel 182 and Trever Dawson 220. Third places in Chris Jarka 145 and Tayvius Sanders 160. Auburn third placers Andrew Schaertz 152 and Lance Morgan 285. Jefferson thirds from Chakotay Keosariya 126 and Darrin Rodger 170. Guilford's Samuel Young a third at 106.


More From WROK 1440 AM / 96.1 FM