Following yesterday's post about enrollment increasing at Rockford University, I have another encouraging education story to share.

Prairie Hill Elementary School in South Beloit has been recognized by the Department of Education as a National Blue Ribbon School for 2014. It's one of only 13 Illinois schools and about 340 nationwide to receive the honor. The DOE says winners were chosen based on "their overall academic excellence or their progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups."

Shironosov, ThinkStock
Shironosov, ThinkStock

Secretary of Education Arne Duncan made the announcement Tuesday, saying:

“These great schools are fulfilling the promise of American education—that all students, no matter their name or zip code, can flourish when schools provide safe, creative, and challenging learning environments. National Blue Ribbon Schools are models of consistent excellence and a resource for other schools and districts. We celebrate them for their tireless effort and boundless creativity in reaching and teaching every student.”

The Department will honor Prairie Hill Elementary at a recognition ceremony on in November in Washington, D.C. In its 32-year history, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has bestowed this award on about 8,000 of America’s schools.

South Barrington, Barbara B. Rose Elementary School
Oak Brook, Brook Forest Elementary School
Hoffman Estates, Fairview Elementary School
Hinsdale, Oak Elementary School
La Grange, Ogden Avenue Elementary School
Lombard, Park View Elementary School
Chicago, Payton College Preparatory High School
Libertyville, Rockland Elementary School
La Grange, Seventh Avenue Elementary School
LaGrange, Spring Avenue Elementary School
Oakbrook Terrace, Stella May Swartz Elementary School
White Heath, White Heath Elementary School

More From WROK 1440 AM / 96.1 FM