Illinois Laws Every Resident Should Know
I was just at Reboot Illinois' website looking at a list of relatively new laws on the books here in Illinois, along with other laws that are being considered. Nothing tremendously interesting in that list, but they had another list entitled "10 ILLINOIS LAWS EVERY RESIDENT SHOULD KNOW." Having lived in Illinois for the better part of 50 years, I thought I'd see if, as an Illinois resident, I was "plugged in" to the statutes that govern us. Turns out, some yes, and some no. Here's a few entries:
DUI Threshold: I did know that the blood alcohol concentration limit here in Illinois is 0.08 percent. What I didn't know was that there is an absolute zero tolerance policy for those under the age of 21.
Using a Cell Phone While Driving: Again, I knew that basics. If you're using your cell phone while driving it must be "hands-free," or it's illegal. I didn't know the penalties, which are: The fine for first-time offenders is $75; $100 for a second offense; $125 for a third offense and $150 for a fourth or subsequent offense. However, this law does not apply to law enforcement and other operators of emergency vehicles.
Divorce Requirements: Luckily, I have zero experience in this area, so my knowledge was limited. I did learn, however: one of the divorce requirements is that you have to be a resident of the state for at least 90 days. Also, Illinois has what is called “no fault” divorce, which means you or your spouse do not have to prove any wrongdoing, just that the marriage is “irretrievably broken.” You can see the additional requirements and further details on the requirements listed above here.
Will Requirements: My wife and I have already done our wills through our attorney, which is a good thing, because: Illinois only recognizes formal wills, so if you’re banking on an oral or handwritten will, you may find yourself with a real problem. A handwritten or holographic will is valid if, according to FindLaw, there are at least two credible witnesses who watch the “testator (person making his or her will) sign or acknowledge the will, determine the testator is of sound mind and sign the will in front of the testator. The witnesses do not have to validate that will at the same time